top of page
  • Writer's pictureShelby Burke

Growing and Changing

Last night Felix spent his first night in his cot, apparently, he was ready to make this leap - however, I wish that the feeling was mutual!


If I had it my way, he would be sleeping in our room for as long as possible but unfortunately, I had to face the reality that my baby is growing up and times are changing.


I knew that this moment was coming, it's been slowly building to this point over the last month.


First, it was the roll from tummy to back.

Secondly, the almost roll from back to belly.

Then, the transition to arms out sleeping.

Add in a few growth spurts and the bassinet was rendered redundant.


Last night was spent anxiously watching the baby monitor, volume all the way up and waking to every single little stir. Felix woke at 1.30am and 5.30am for a feed and otherwise slept through the night or was able to self settle back to sleep - I hope that this trend continues.


6.30am and Felix was awake again - I wasn't ready to face the day so Felix slept for another hour or so in our bed.


I don't know why it makes me so sad to see Felix hitting these milestones, I should be excited by them but instead, I am missing the little baby that he was only months ago and as he ticks off more 'firsts' then it is less that he will experience in the future.


The days are long but the weeks and months are so short with a baby!


What I did to make the transition:

  1. I finally got a baby monitor - I ended up getting the Vtech rm7754 with the night light and absolutely love it!

  2. We started doing day naps in the cot for a week or two before the first night sleep to get Felix used to it

  3. We went cold turkey with the arms out and just bit the bullet for a few nights whilst he adjusted

  4. We moved the glow dreaming machine into the nursery with Felix as he has been using it since he was 6 weeks old and sleeps so much better with it (tip: whilst feeding in the dark, sit the dummy on top of the machine so you can easily find it after the feed)

  5. Accept that it will come with mixed emotions and just try to roll with it!

 
 

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page